Lifestyle Article - TPR appoint New Chair and four new members to panel

The former Financial Regulators Complaints Commissioner, Antony Townsend, is to become the new Chair of The Pensions Regulator’s Determinations Panel (the Panel).

 Mr Townsend, who joined the Panel in September 2018, will become Chair on 7 April 2021 and will succeed Andrew Long, who has held the post for eight years. 

 Four new members have also been appointed to the Panel, which is responsible for making formal decisions relating to cases where TPR seeks to use certain powers. They are Shrinivas Honap, Anne Fletcher, Megan Forbes and Stephen Mount. All will join on 1 January 2021.

 TPR chairman Mark Boyle said: “I am delighted that Antony has been appointed to Chair the Determinations Panel, and in doing so will bring a real depth of regulatory skills, knowledge and experience to this important role.

 “I am also very pleased that Shrinivas, Anne, Megan and Stephen will be joining as we strive to ensure the Panel has the skills and diversity to match TPR’s ambitious long-term strategy to build on its clear, quick and tough approach.”

 From April next year there will be 10 members of the Determinations Panel. Current panel member Pauline Wallace has been reappointed for a second four-year term. In addition to Mr Long, current member Catharine Seddon will be stepping down in spring 2021 on completion of her second four-year term.

 Antony Townsend said: “I am delighted to be taking on the role of Chair of the Determinations Panel. The current exceptional economic climate poses challenges for members of pension schemes, for the schemes themselves, and for the employers which support them. It is more important than ever that The Pensions Regulator continues to use its extensive powers wisely and fairly, and it is the role of the Determinations Panel to ensure that it does so. I look forward to contributing to that work.”

 Andrew Long said: “It is really pleasing that there have been such strong new appointments to the Panel to take it through the exciting next stage of TPR’s development. There was a very strong field of candidates demonstrating the keen public interest in the work of TPR and the Panel”.

 The appointments have been made following full and open processes.

Back to Index

Similar News to this Story

PLSA Policy Board appoints six new members
The Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (PLSA) has appointed six new members to its Policy Board, following a comprehensive selection process.
Colin Williams to be new MD Pensions and Savings at Phoenix
Phoenix Group announces the appointment of Colin Williams as Managing Director, Pensions and Savings. The appointment signals the strong foundations t
Sarah Powell FIA joins SEIs Institutional Group
SEI have announced that Sarah Powell, FIA, has been appointed as a Client Strategy Director within SEI’s Institutional Group. Powell will be based in

Site Search

Exact   Any  

Latest Actuarial Jobs

Actuarial Login

 Jobseeker    Client
Reminder Logon

APA Sponsors

Actuarial Jobs & News Feeds

Jobs RSS News RSS


Be the first to contribute to our definitive actuarial reference forum. Built by actuaries for actuaries.